Oregon CPE Requirements for CPAs
As with most things, the business world is anything but static. It changes and shifts, and the accounting profession is no exception. Because there are developments and advancements in the ways things are done, it is important for CPAs to stay on top of changes, and part of that is accomplished through continuing professional education. Members of the AICPA are required to complete a certain number of continuing education hours every few years in order to maintain their licensed status. But since each state Board of Accountancy has its own requirements, they differ from one location to another. That’s why it’s important for licensees to stay aware of their state requirements.
In Oregon, CPAs are required to renew their license every two years, and they must complete at least 24 hours of continuing professional education each year. However, the overall requirement states that licensees must have completed 80 hours per license renewal period. The table below offers more details about the licensing requirements.
|License Renewal Date||CPE Reporting Period||Total CPE Hours||Self-Study Credit Limitations|
|June 30 (odd numbered license = odd year; even numbered license = even year)||July 1 – June 30 biennially (odd-numbered license = odd year; even-numbered license = even year)||80 hours||None|
Subject Area Requirements
During each three-year recertification cycle, 4 of the required 80 hours have to be in the area of Professional Conduct and Ethics. Programs in ethics shall qualify for CPE credit if those programs are offered by sponsors registered with the Board and include information pertaining to each of the following topics:
- Oregon Administrative Rules and Oregon Revised Statutes pertaining to the practice of public accountancy
- Examples of issues or situations that require a licensee to understand the statutes, rules and case law relevant to the practice of public accountancy
- The Code of Professional Conduct adopted by the Board and set forth in OAR chapter 801, division 030
- Review of recent case law pertaining to ethics and professional responsibilities for the accounting profession
If the licensee’s principal place of business is not in Oregon, they may meet the Oregon ethics requirement for license renewal by meeting the ethics requirement of the principal place of business (state). If the principal place of business does not have an ethics requirement, the licensee must meet Oregon’s ethics requirement.
Licensees who are admitted to the municipal roster are required to complete at least 24 hours of CPE in subjects which are directly related to governmental environment and governmental auditing during the renewal period. A minimum of 16 hours must be completed within the following subjects:
- State and local governmental unit audits
- Governmental Accounting and Financial Reporting Standards and relevant updates
- Generally Accepted Governmental Auditing Standards and relevant updates
- The Single Audit Act and related Office of Management and Budget circulars and supplements
- Oregon Local Budget Law
- Minimum standards of audits and revisions of Oregon municipal corporations
It should be noted that no more than 8 of the required 24 hours may be in courses relating to Generally Accepted Auditing Standards and Procedures.
Credit Limitations and Calculation
Formal presentations are a valid method for obtaining CPE credit in Oregon, as are authorship and subsequent publication of written materials. The maximum credit allowed for instruction and authorship combined is 50% of the maximum required credits per recertification period (40 CPEs). However, instructors may not obtain credit for repetitive instances of instruction unless the material has been changed significantly. Authorship credit is allowed only for the first instance of publication of a work. Instructors, discussion leaders or speakers will receive CPE credit for preparation time up to two times the length of the actual presentation as well as the time of presentation.
Licensees who are enrolled in relevant higher education courses can claim credit hours. 15 hours are allotted to each semester hour, and 10 hours for every quarter hour taken. Non-credit university courses are set at a rate of 50 minutes of credit per qualifying hour of classroom time.
Non-technical subjects are limited to 16 credits per recertification period, and the hours may not be carried forward in order to meet requirements of subsequent recertification cycles.
Practice review credit is limited to 2 hours per instance, and only 16 total hours per recertification period will be accepted as valid credit.
Self-study credit must be approved by NASBA’s Quality Assurance Service (QAS) in order to qualify as an acceptable method of continuing professional education.
Licensees who serve as members of the Oregon Joint Ways and Means Legislative Committee shall be allowed to claim a maximum of 16 hours of CPE credit for performance of their services. Licensees who review reports for the GFOA Certificate of Achievement program shall be allowed up to 16 hours of the total CPE requirement for the recertification period.
Once the first full hour of CPE has been completed, credits may be obtained in half-hour (25-minute) increments.
Other Policies and Exemptions
CPAs are considered exempt from the continuing professional education requirements in Oregon if they are:
- Currently unemployed
- Temporarily apart from the workforce
- Formally listed as “inactive” with the AICPA
However, to continue qualifying for exemption, any members in the above categories must not offer their services to any third parties.
It is also possible for individual members to request waivers for the continuing professional education requirements for reasons including:
- Declining health
- Some instances of military service
- Natural disasters (determined by Board approval)
- Other, similar circumstances